Evening Dreaming

Okay, I got distracted, very distracted. As much as I would like to get back to my work, I was subconsciously taking a stroll in my dreamland that wishfully will come true in 2012. Forget about the talk and speculation on Armageddon or end of the world, the Bible has not once reminded us that the time will come like a thief and we should all be ready for Him, so who are we to think that we know the exact timing? Now back to my distraction. I so wanted to dedicate the coming year to traveling and studying like the Chinese Saying “讀萬卷書,行萬里路” (Read thousands of scrolls and Travel thousands of miles) The philosophy reads that have since been buried together with my escapist mind shall re-surface, the long waited hiatus shall heat up the soles to walk till I drop. I so wanted to revive my sages such as Socrates and Plato, the Epicureans and Stoics, Confucius and Mencius and the likes. I too wish to spend time with George Berkeley in defence of the existence of God and truly understand Descartes in his proclamation of “I think therefore I am” (Cogito Ergo Sum, I actually remember this in Latin! ) I want to write the essays that I used to complain and sometimes got so excited burning the midnight oil that I almost shrieked “Eureka!” Those were the days when I was most alive, not that I am any less now but the passion and the state of intense contemplation were much lacking in these days…